Guidance Department: College Office Bulletin Board

Subject: HS volunteer tutors needed at the New York Hall of Science!
Good afternoon,
I am reaching out to see if you have any students who would be interested in participating in our new volunteer program at the New York Hall of Science.
We are currently recruiting high school and college volunteers for our after-school Homework Help program starting on February 27. The position would be to volunteer as a tutor for K-8 students. Please see attached Job Description for more details.
Requirements:
Available from 3:30-6pm, 2 days/week (Mon-Thurs)
Must be in good academic standing
Recommendation letter
In high school or college
If students are interested, please have them fill out our Volunteer Application by January 29, 2017.
 








PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT THE STUDENT MUST SIGN UP TO TAKE THE SAT/ACT TEST WITH EITHER THE COLLEGE BOARD OR ACT. 


JUNIOR PARENT INFO NIGHT WILL BE HELD TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 7TH


--------------------------------------------------------------


HOW TO CREATE AN FSA ID FOR FAFSA

(Only the owner of the FSA ID should create and use the account.  Never share your FSA ID)

The FSA ID - a username and password -- has replaced the Federal Student Aid PIN and must be used to log in to certain U.S. Department of Education websites.  Your FSA ID confirms your identity when you access your financial aid information and electronically sign Federal Student Aid documents.  If you do not already have an FSA ID, you can create one when logging in to fafsa.gov, the National Student Loan Data System (NSLDS) at www.nsids.ed.gov, StudentLoans.gov, StudentAid.gov, and Agreement to Serve (ATS) at www.teach-ats.ed.gov.

  1. When logging in to one of the websites listed above, click the link to create an FSA ID.
  2. Create a username and password, and enter your e-mail address.
  3. Enter your name, date of birth, Social Security number, contact information, and challenge questions and answers.
  4. If you have a Federal Student Aid PIN, you will be able to enter it and link it to your FSA ID.  You can still create an FSA ID if you have forgotten or do not have a PIN.
  5. Review your information and read and accept the terms and conditions.
  6. Confirm your e-mail address using the secure code, which will be sent to the e-mail address you entered when you created your FSA ID.  Once you verify your e-mail address, you can use it instead of your username to log in to the websites.

You can use your FSA ID to sign a FAFSA right away.  Once the Social Security Administration verifies your information in one to three days, or if you have linked your PIN to your FSA ID, you will be able to use your FSA ID to access the websites listed above.  For help, visit StudentAid.gov/fsaid.



FOR INFORMATION ON SAT/ACT CLASSES GIVEN AT PREP -- PLEASE GO TO SAT/ACT SECTION OF WEBSITE

 

IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS REGARDING YOUR CUNY APPLICATIONS OR CUNY DECISIONS YOU CAN CALL THEM AT

212-997-2869


UNITED STATES NAVAL ACADEMY

 Summer STEM Camp: current 8th through 10th graders. The Application is now open! http://www.usna.edu/Admissions/Programs/STEM/

Summer STEM + Leadership Camp: current 11th graders. The Application is now open! http://www.usna.edu/Admissions/Programs/NASS/







COLLEGE BOARD www.collegeboard.org

ACT www.actstudent.org




This message board contains a variety of important information and announcements FOR BOTH SENIORS AND JUNIORS:

 



RE:  SCHOLARSHIPS -- PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT THE PROPER PROCEDURE FOR APPLYING FOR SCHOLARSHIPS IS TO SUBMIT YOUR PAPERWORK TO THE COLLEGE OFFICE ONE MONTH PRIOR TO THE DUE DATE OF THE SCHOLARSHIP APPLICATION.  IT IS SCHOOL POLICY NOT TO GIVE TRANSCRIPTS TO STUDENTS.  PLEASE COMPLY WITH THESE PROCEDURES.  YOU MUST SPEAK WITH MS. ARMON IF EXTRAORDINARY CIRCUMSTANCES OCCUR.  THANK YOU.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR SENIORS  


STUDENTS ARE NOT TO BRING IN APPLICATIONS DURING CLASS TIME.  YOU ARE TO BRING THEM DURING YOUR FREE TIME OR LUNCH.  WE ARE HERE AT 7:30 TO ACCEPT APPLICATIONS AND AFTER DISMISSAL.  THERE IS NO REASON TO MISS CLASS.


School Information:  6100 Francis Lewis Blvd., Fresh Meadows NY  11365

CEEB Code:  330835

Class of 2014 Data:  653 Graduates

Class of 2014 entered high school 09/2010

Graduation Date:  06/07/2014

Ranking:  None

Grading:  100 Scale

COUNSELOR INFORMATION

TITLE:  Guidance Counselor

Guidance Office:  718-423-8810 x212

College Office: 718-423-8810 x244

EMAILS

Ms. Robyn Armon:  rarmon@sfponline.org

Ms. Becky Barell:  bbarell@sfponline.org

Sr. Barbara Coyle:  bcoyle@sfponline.org

Mrs. Danielle Forte:  dforte@sfponline.org

Mrs. Laura Hassett:  lhassett@sfponline.org

Mr. Nicholas Lombardo:  nlombardo@sfponline.org

Mrs. Josephine Morrone:  jmorrone@sfponline.org

Mrs. Kelly Ramsey:  kramsey@sfponline.org

Mr. Don Sileo:  dsileo@sfponline.org

Mrs. Nancy Williams:  nwilliams@sfponline.org

Administrative Assistants

Mrs. Maureen Logan:  mlogan@sfponline.org

Ms. Patricia Stevens:  pstevens@sfponline.org



 

Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) online link is:  www.fafsa.gov

 


 

PROCESSING FORMS ARE NOW AVAILABLE AT COLLEGE FORMS LINK

 

 

ADVANTAGE TESTING INFORMATION AND PRINCETON REVIEW INFORMATION NOW AVAILABLE UNDER SAT/ACT LINK

 OPPORTUNITIES FOR STUDENTS:

TIME 2000:  A MATH TEACHING PROGRAM AT QUEENS COLLEGE -- THIS IS A FULL-TIME UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAM SPECIALLY DESIGNED FOR STUDENTS WHO WOULD LIKE TO BECOME SECONDARY SCHOOL MATHEMATICS TEACHERS.  TIME 2000 WILL ADMIT UP TO 30 MEMBERS OF THE FRESHMAN CLASS.  FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT:  DR. ALICE ARTZT 718-997-5377 -- EMAIL ALICE.ARTZT@QC.CUNY.EDU (ALSO FOR MORE INFO GO TO www.qc.cuny.edu/time2000.)

----------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

SENIORS:  IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS REGARDING YOUR CUNY APPLICATIONS OR CUNY DECISIONS YOU CAN CALL THEM AT 212-997-2869 or email:  aonline@mail.cuny.edu

UNITED STATES MILITARY ACADEMY

WEST POINT

OUTSTANDING JUNIORS MAY START THEIR APPLICATIONS NOW BY VISITING  www.apply.usma.edu

FRESHMAN AND SOPHMORES MAY REQUEST THE E-BROCHURE "YOUR GUIDE TO SUCCESSFUL ADMISSIONS" AND VISIT www.discover.usma.edu/guide


Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) online link is:   www.fafsa.gov

-------------------------------------------------------------------
 
 
 
 

SENIORS:  IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS REGARDING YOUR CUNY APPLICATIONS OR CUNY DECISIONS YOU CAN CALL THEM AT 212-997-2869 or email:  aonline@mail.cuny.edu

ATTENTION SENIORS - SEE SFP COLLEGE HANDBOOK TO LEARN ABOUT PROCESS FOR APPLYING TO COLLEGE-CLICK ON LINK BELOW:

SFP College Handbook

Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) online link is :  www.fafsa.gov